Welcome Guest!
Log In

About Boating Safely (ABS)

 

If you are interested in an exciting, in-depth boating safety course, check out the in classroom (seminar) version of our popular online boating course.

This beginner boating class will give you the knowledge needed to obtain a boat license or safety certification in many states. Many boat insurance companies will offer discounts on boating insurance to boaters who successfully complete About Boating Safely.

Who Must Take This Course?

On January 1, 1978, Illinois law was passed that requires persons at least 12 years of age and less than 18 years of age may only operate a motorboat if:

  • They have in possession a valid Boating Education Certificate of Competency issued by the Illinois Department of Natural Resources, Safety Education Division, or
  • They are accompanied on the motorboat and under direct control of a parent of guardian, or a person at least 18 years of age designated by a parent or guardian.

Beginning on January 1, 2016, no person born on or after January 1, 1998, unless exempted by subsection (i), shall operate a motorboat unless that person has a valid Boating Safety Certificate issued by the Department of Natural Resources or an entity or organization recognized and approved by the Department.

Violations of this Section done with the knowledge of a parent or guardian shall be deemed a violation by the parent or guardian and punishable under Chp. 625 Art. 11A of the Illinois Boat Registration and Safety Act.

TOPICS INCLUDE