You can also use our web to phone application below to connect your call free of charge.
Our basic beginner boating education class is an exciting, in-depth course, designed give you the knowledge needed to obtain a Boater Education Safety Certification in most states. About Boating Safely is a 8 - 9 hour seminar styled course.
Who Must Take This Course?
On January 1, 1978, Illinois law was passed that requires persons at least 12 years of age and less than 18 years of age may only operate a motorboat if:
- They have in possession a valid Boating Education Certificate of Competency issued by the Illinois Department of Natural Resources, Safety Education Division, or
- They are accompanied on the motorboat and under direct control of a parent of guardian, or a person at least 18 years of age designated by a parent or guardian.
Beginning on January 1, 2016, no person born on or after January 1, 1998, unless exempted by subsection (i), shall operate a motorboat unless that person has a valid Boating Safety Certificate issued by the Department of Natural Resources or an entity or organization recognized and approved by the Department.
Violations of this Section done with the knowledge of a parent or guardian shall be deemed a violation by the parent or guardian and punishable under Chp. 625 Art. 11A of the Illinois Boat Registration and Safety Act.
An exciting safety course designed with paddlers in mind covering basic required safety topics. PaddleSports America is a 4 - 5 seminar styled course.
Personal Watercraft Safety is a basic introduction to safety issues involved when operating a Personal Watercraft. The purpose of the course and its associated text, Personal Watercraft Rider's Handbook, is to teach that PWCs are boats and that their operators have legal responsibilities and should learn the "rules of the road." Personal Watercraft Safety is a 3 - 5 hour seminar styled course.
GPS for Mariners is a modernized course that focuses the learning experience on the typical GPS equipment owned by recreational boaters. This course is the result of excellent and exciting synergy between textbook's publisher, the book's author and the Auxiliary. GPS for Mariners is a 6 - 7 hour seminar styled course that builds on the knowledge obtained in About Boating Safety.
Designed for those not generally at the helm and to help “be prepared” with the basics in case of an emergency. Learn about your vessel, including nomenclature and operating principles. Descriptions of what causes boating mishaps and how to minimize them, basic boat handling and what equipment should be on board. Suddenly In Command is a 5 - 6 hour seminar styled course.
NOTICE TO BOATING EDUCATION STUDENTS:
REGISTRATION & PAYMENTS
All classes taught by Flotilla 41-7 9WR require pre-registration & payment of a minimum of 5 students with the Public Education Officer, not the host location to be held. We will honor walk-ins if space is available and class has a minimum of 5 pre-registered & paid students with the Public Education Officer, not the host location. All fees are non-refundable* and payable to U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary Flotilla 41-7 9WR at the time of registration. We are not responsible for registrations or payments made to/through host location.
*CANCELATIONS & REFUNDS:
Flotilla 41-7 9WR reserves the right to cancel, postpone or reschedule at any time for any reason with 24 hour notice to both pre-registered students and host location. If Flotilla 41-7 9WR cancels a scheduled class:
- students that pre-registered & paid less than 30 prior to and more than 7 days prior to class date may either select another class being held within 30 days of the original class date or request a refund through the Finance Officer,
- students that pre-registered & paid more than 30 prior to class date may either select another class being held within 30 days of the original class date or request a check refund through the Finance Officer less a 5% processing fee,
- students that pre-registered & paid less than 7 days prior to class date may select another class being held with in 45 days of the original class date.
If for any reason a paid student needs to leave the class prior to completion the student may select a make up class being held within 30 days of the original class date at no additional charge or may select a make up class being held within 60 days of original class date for an additional charge of 50% of the new class fee.
Class materials & fees and shipping & handling fees are not returnable/refundable under any circumstances.